Cold Dogs

There weren’t that many firecrackers and bombs exploding in the air this year.  I crawled under the table as close to my Dad’s feet as possible.  He kept thinking I would knock him off-line because I had to step over the surge protector with the switch on top, but I was careful.  Old dogs are wiser, no New Year’s resolutions for me.  Sure way to feel guilty and bad.  Its cold this time of year, but walks and lying in the sun, when there is sun, helps some.

So I thought you might like to see some art which features cold dogs.  Yeah, I know, this means I’ll have to do hot dogs sometime, to keep things balanced.  Obligations weigh heavy.

Let’s start with a famous one, by Pieter Bruegel the Elder, called “The Hunters in the Snow (Winter)” which dates back to 1565.

Pieter Bruegel the Elder, called "The Hunters in the Snow (Winter)" which dates back to 1565.

Click on image to see it better (and bigger).  I’ll bet those dogs had cold feet.

Next, an ice skating  scene in Holland, dating to the 19th century, by the Dutch landscape artist Andreas Schelfhout, who specialized in winter landscapes.

Andreas Schelfhout (1787-1870) -- Ice Merriment Near a Mill

Andreas Schelfhout (1787-1870) -- Ice Merriment Near a Mill

Click on the image to see those cold merry folks a little larger, and of course, the dog.

Last, a very sad dog standing over the open grave of his one true love–how will he survive now that his mistress has past away?  This is by Swedish artist Carl Stefan Bennet (1800-1878).

Carl Stefan Bennet (1800-1878) -- Fidele

Carl Stefan Bennet (1800-1878) ~ Fidele

Please click image to see it better.  I have many more cold dogs in winter images.  Speak up if you would like to see more.

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Cold Dogs”

  1. EKB Says:

    Hi, Rita,
    Do you think dogs’ foot pads keep them from feeling too cold? I know you’ve never lived in a true cold climate and that you enjoyed the nippy days in San Antonio and here, too. You might actually like the snow! I don’t think I’ve ever seen dogs jump up and down because their feet were too cold. We used to have a dog named Alex before you were born. I loved him, but no one else besides our neighbor Mary Ellen did because with everyone but her and me he was pretty grouchy. Anyway, he went for lots of walks in snow. One winter, we had a thick sheet of ice on the ground in St. Louis for weeks. He didn’t like that. One day we opened the front door for him to go out and he slid all the way down the slope to the street. Fortunately, it was a very quiet street and he didn’t run into any moving cars!

    I sure would like to see more dogs in snow and stuff.

    Love, Mom

  2. rita314 Says:

    Hi Ma,

    Thanks for that comment. That’s easy for you to say, that dogs wouldn’t get cold feet. How can you know, you wear shoes and are not a dog? I can tell you that dog’s feet DO get cold. I hope that Alex dog liked his slide down the hill, but I bet he was cold and scared.

    Love from your best dog,
    Rita

    P.S. I will post some more cold-dog picks, if you promise to click on them so you can see them properly.

  3. EKB Says:

    Well, I have to say, Alex never did turn down a walk. Love, Mom

  4. OaktownPablo Says:

    Yo Rita,
    Nice work – I liked the cold dog pictures. We’ve got lots of dogs on our street, but not much cold. I’ll take a few pictures so you can see your Oaktown peeps.

  5. rita314 Says:

    Hey Pablo, Thanks for the comment. I definitely would like to see those pics!
    Your best friend,
    Rita

  6. nosleepingdog Says:

    Rita– Yes, I’d like to see more “cold dog” pictures too!

    Our dog experience re snow: we have had several Rhodesian Ridgebacks, a short-coated hound originating in S. AFrica, and generally very intolerant of cold wet weather (especially wet!). But, for a walk, they happily go with us when it is cold and dry or when it is snowy, and when younger enjoy running around in new snow. We only get snow a few times each winter and it usually does not stay around more than a few days so it is a novelty. Our youngest likes to dig in it with her nose like a snowplow. This from dogs who love being covered up with a blanket while inside on the warm couch. Bottom line dogs are hardier than we are, and more inclined to let enthusiasm overcome discomfort up to a limit. Up to us humans to keep an eye on them as we do on kids out in the cold, who can get too cold before they realize it.

    I searched briefly on “dogs feet blood cold” to see how their feet handle the cold, and came up with this article which seemed the most complete and fact-based although not by a physiologist or a vet: http://www.wolfsongalaska.org/wolf_feet.htm

    Despite the url it is really more about dogs than about wolves.

    Thank you, Rita, for the dog art.

    • rita314 Says:

      Hi nosleepingdog,
      Now I know more about my feet than I ever thought I would. Thanks for that link. Very informative. Still, if I ever have to move to a cold-weather place I’m gonna ask Santa for Gortex dog shoes! More cold-dog art coming soon!
      Yours,
      Rita.

Leave a Reply

